Men shirt sewn playsuit

2 Comments

Supplies: Men Shirt
Cost: $0.00

Ready, Set, Sew!

IMG_5436

Before this was a men shirt but my husband wasn’t into the fabric. I love plaid and thought a romper shorts would be a nice twist to the men shirt refashion.

I drafted my own pattern using my old shorts like so…

IMG_5455

and here’s what everything became…

Main shirt: shorts and bodice

IMG_5449

IMG_5456

IMG_5457

The back of the shirt became the front bodice while the front became the back. I had to take off those buttons, sewn the 2 piece-back parts together and threaded a 7′” elastic through. Also, I embellished the front bodice with the lace I took off from the patriotic hoddie shirt.

IMG_5458

Sleeves: waistband

IMG_5465

Cuffs: straps

IMG_5459

I played around with it but still I ended up with the old fashioned straight straps…

I pleated the front top bodice to enhance the sweetheart neckline look and created flaps on the breast part to contour the chest. I sewn the bodice and the shorts together and now I have a brand new sweetheart romper shorts perfect for these hot summer days!

IMG_5462

here is the before photo:

IMG_5083

 the after…

IMG_5262

IMG_5466

IMG_5275

IMG_5273

I know this is not much of a tutorial, unfortunately I failed to take good pictures for the step by step guide but I promise you (those who requested via instagram and facebook) I will post a tutorial on how to make an easy romper shorts one of these days…

 Also, I wanted to make a shout out to diyprojects101 for inspiring me to create some self made stuffs. And look I got lucky to be chosen as their fanfriday winner!

IMG_7284

Thanks so much diyprojects101 you rock! continue to inspire people! God bless you!

Till next time sewers!

2 thoughts on “Men shirt sewn playsuit

Leave a comment