Men shirt sewn origami skirt separates

5 Comments

IMG_1569

Hello thrifty crafters! The time has come to start cleaning out the closet and making room for new spring clothes… but before you begin tossing out those old shirts, think about putting them to use with this recycled shirt idea. From new wearables to some other useful whatever, you can easily convert old clothes into just about anything. Take a look at this project and get inspired to start crafting today!

Ready, Set, Sew!

IMG_1564

When I picked up this chunky shirt from the family’s giveaway pile, I knew I could make 2 wearables from it. I thought about what’s trending now and without a doubt, I knew origami skirt separates would be a cool new born drab to fab of it. So, I started ripping off the pocket and cut across underneath the armholes….

IMG_1595

…that became my origami skirt

IMG_1596

IMG_1597

It’s so simple! in fact you could imitate it using my origami skort tutorial minus the shorts, you might wanna check it out!

I then attached a waistband and didn’t bother making a button hole and what not as I’m sure it’ll hold just fine.

IMG_1614

With the remaining fabric I have, I managed to make a loose fitting wrap top…

IMG_1616

embellished the top with shoulder buttons like that on the picture.

IMG_1588

I neatly sew them by attaching some bias tapes on its raw edges for more professional looking seams…

IMG_1615

IMG_1598

Now I have a brand new separates that I could mix and match with…

IMG_1570

IMG_1571

Happy sewing everyone! Till next DIY look for less!

P.S. Anyone of you who loves singing like I do? I recently discovered this amazing sing along app called sing snap you might wanna check it out! Also included a link (below) for you guys inviting you to watch and listen to my recent upload “The Power of Love by Celine Dion” I know most of my IG friends are wondering if I can really blow some notes so here ya go… lol wasn’t flawless though I should have practiced first but oh well haha…. peace!

http://www.singsnap.com/karaoke/watchandlisten/play/c3b25342f

Thanks for dropping by my loves!

5 thoughts on “Men shirt sewn origami skirt separates

  1. Nice DIY.. I wonder what you do for a living. I think you would be a great designer or something.. 🙂
    God bless 🙂

Leave a comment