DIY fully lined moto jacket out of man’s coat

Leave a comment

I know. It’s been a while, lots of you have been wondering what in the world I’m up to, if I’ve decided to quit the blog and if I’m just wandering around naked, as I haven’t done any sewing project on here in a while.

I was woefully absent for a few reasons, including being very busy with my 19 month old kiddo, (I guess I was just a little too excited that she’s able to identify objects and  count numbers 1-10 now yay! lol) being in love with the kitchen is another reason and botching my refashion! yep… it happens to me too! I had to fix the grommets on it. So, I waited for a batch of snaps to be shipped and it took forever to arrive! not a happy camper… but don’t worry. The blog must go on! Here we go!

This is my hubby’s coat…

IMG_0700

he said he’s not a fan of a fancy look and that he’s got no plans of wearing it. Guess what???… Right you are! I adopted it and came up with a big refashion plan!

The secret to a garment overhaul a.k.a. complete refashion is to find a way to take them apart and see them like a piece of fabric and not a piece of clothing.

IMG_0685

After checking how much I could use out of it, I then grabbed my pencil and sketched out this new baby. I thought it would be my hardest refashion and really it was by far! But hey! I was able to bring it to life and so can you! as I will share with you my DIY how-to.

IMG_0712

Ready, set, sew!

I started by making patterns and I came up with these:

IMG_0708 IMG_0709

the back pattern pieces

IMG_0710

front pattern pieces

Then literally, cut each piece on the “fabric” with a quarter of an inch allowance per edge then sew them together to form the complete patterns and they look like these…

IMG_0688

Back bodice

IMG_0689

Front right bodice

IMG_0690

Front left bodice

I had to buy me half a yard of faux suede fabric in black in case you’re wondering about the drape. I got it for only four bucks as it was on sale yay! The right drape measures 18×14″ while the left drape measures 22×14″. Sew them altogether and completed it with quarter sleeves…

IMG_0691

Then I started punching the grommets on…

IMG_0693 - Copy

Attached the lining and a silver separating zipper…

IMG_0692 IMG_0695 - Copy

then it ended up looking like this…

IMG_0694

IMG_0696

IMG_0697

I measured the neckline giving it half an inch seam allowances to fold and voila! an asymmetrical grommeted moto jacket was born!

IMG_0699

I really need a good lens to capture great DIY photos ugh… but I hope this inspires you to take advantage of your “me” time and create your very own, fashionable moto jacket.

Till next DIY look for less lovelies!

Leave a comment